Officers of the Executive Committee

New President

DO-G President Prof. Stefan Garthe and 1st Vice President Prof. Martin Wikelski did not run for re-election and have left the executive committee by the end of the year 2018.

New President: Dr. Wolfgang Fiedler (as of January 2019)

New 1st Vice President: Prof. Petra Quillfeldt (as of January 2019)

More about the elections during our annual general meeting on Sept. 21 in Heidelberg and about the outgoing and the new executive officers in issue 4(2018) of Vogelwarte.

Wolfgang Fiedler


Dr. Wolfgang Fiedler

Max-Planck-Institute for Ornithology
Vogelwarte Radolfzell
Am Obstberg 1
78315 Radolfzell (Germany)

phone: +49-(0)7732 1501 60
fax: +49-(0)7732 1501 69

e-mail      web

Petra Quillfeldt

1st Vice President

Prof. Dr. Petra Quillfeldt

Justus Liebig University
Institut für Allgemeine und Spezielle Zoologie
Interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum (IFZ)
AG Verhaltensökologie und Ökophysiologie der Tiere
Heinrich-Buff-Ring 26-32
35392 Giessen (Germany)

phone: +49 641 9935770
fax: +49 641 9935779

e-mail     web

Dorit Liebers-Helbig (© Christian Rödel, Stralsund)

2nd Vice President

Dr. Dorit Liebers-Helbig

Deutsches Meeresmuseum
Katharinenberg 14-20
D-18439 Stralsund (Germany)

phone: +49 3831-2650-325
fax: +49 3831-2650-309

e-mail     web

Ommo Hüppop

Secretary General

Dr. Ommo Hüppop

Institute of Avian Research
'Vogelwarte Helgoland'
An der Vogelwarte 21
D-26386 Wilhelmshaven (Germany)

phone: +49 (0)4421 9689 0
fax: +49 (0)4421 9689 55

e-mail     web

Volker Blüml


Dr. Volker Blüml

Freiheitsweg 38A
D-49086 Osnabrück (Germany)


Franziska Tanneberger


Dr. Franziska Tanneberger

Universität  Greifswald, Partner of Greifswald Moor Centrum
Soldmannstr. 15
D-17487 Greifswald (Germany)




Franz Bairlein

Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Ornithology

Honorary President of the DO-G

Prof. Dr. Franz Bairlein

Institute of Avian Research
´Vogelwarte Helgoland´
An der Vogelwarte 21
D-26386 Wilhelmshaven (Germany)

phone: +49 (0)4421 9689 0
fax: +49 (0)4421 9689 55

e-mail     web     > Journal of Ornithology

Dirk Tolkmitt

Chair of Advisory Board

Dr. Dirk Tolkmitt

Verwaltungsgericht Leipzig
Rathenaustraße 40
D-04179 Leipzig (Germany)

phone: +49 341 4460147 (office), +49 341 9122070 (private)

e-mail     > DO-G Advisory Board

Tim Schmoll

Spokesperson of Research Commission

PD Dr. Tim Schmoll

Evolutionary Biology
Bielefeld University
Konsequenz 45
D-33615 Bielefeld (Germany)

phone: +49 (0)521 106 2720
fax: +49 (0)521 106 6426

e-mail     > DO-G Research Funding